The War

Last week was Anzac Day. But it was no normal Anzac Day, because, we were recreating what the New Zealand army was doing in the trenches. At first I thought it was going to be a normal Anzac day, but when I peaked into Manukau’s slide door there was string all over the class room! All of us had to crawl under the string. Most of the people had carpet burns, scrunched back, and were tired. At the end of the day I still had swimming and I didn’t know how would that go.

I liked that we had to crawl under the strings because to me it was like a responsibility to not go over the string because you will get shot [not really. ]

I disliked how we had to work under the ropes, because we had to crunch up like a turtle hiding his head.  Most of us were under a chair or table even though I was under a table most of the time.

4 thoughts on “The War

  1. Hi Max, It’s me Krish I really liked your blog it was amazing.
    The positive part is that you described witch part you really liked and also the part where you disliked anything. What would your tip be to untie the strings?
    Please read my comment!

    1. Hello, Krish, I saw that you have asked a question about “what is your tip to untie the string?”

      What I would do is wrap the string around the stick and keep on doing that process until you get to the end.

      Krish, would you have done the same thing as me or do it a different way? Let Me Know!

  2. Talofa Maxwell, thank you for sharing about your day in the trenches. It must have been quite the experience to arrive at school and told you had to report for duty. I hope the tables and chairs offered a little ‘protection’ from the shooting. At least they would remind you not to lift your heads too quickly or BANG. What was your favourite part of the day? How did swimming go after, did you manage to stretch out enough?
    Tanya Mundy
    Ako Hiko EPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *